New Books in the Junior Library!

This week, along with some great new non-fiction titles, we received some wonderful books for the Junior Library. See them below!

americaI, Too, Am America by Langston Hughes Illustrated by Bryan Collier
Winner of the Coretta Scott King illustrator award, I, Too, Am America blends the poetic wisdom of Langston Hughes with visionary illustrations from Bryan Collier in this inspirational picture book that carries the promise of equality. I, too, sing America. I am the darker brother. They send me to eat in the kitchen When company comes, But I laugh, And eat well, And grow strong. Langston Hughes was a courageous voice of his time, and his authentic call for equality still rings true today. Beautiful paintings from Barack Obama illustrator Bryan Collier accompany and reinvent the celebrated lines of the poem “I, Too,” creating a breathtaking reminder to all Americans that we are united despite our differences. This picture book of Langston Hughes’s celebrated poem, “I, Too, Am America,” is also a Common Core Text Exemplar for Poetry.

dreamI Have a Dream Dr Martin Luther King Jr. Paintings by Kadir Nelson
Also includes a CD of the original speech!
A Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book From Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.’s daughter, Dr. Bernice A. King: “My father’s dream continues to live on from generation to generation, and this beautiful and powerful illustrated edition of his world-changing “I Have a Dream” speech brings his inspiring message of freedom, equality, and peace to the youngest among us–those who will one day carry his dream forward for everyone.” On August 28, 1963, on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial during the March on Washington, Martin Luther King gave one of the most powerful and memorable speeches in our nation’s history. His words, paired with Caldecott Honor winner Kadir Nelson’s magnificent paintings, make for a picture book certain to be treasured by children and adults alike. The themes of equality and freedom for all are not only relevant today, 50 years later, but also provide young readers with an important introduction to our nation’s past. Included with the book is an audio CD of the speech.

The Dark by Lemony Snicket Illustrated by Jon Klassen
Laszlo is afraid of the dark. The dark lives in the same house as Laszlo. Mostly, though, the dark stays in the basement and doesn’t come into Lazslo’s room. But one night, it does. This is the story of how Laszlo stops being afraid of the dark. With emotional insight and poetic economy, two award-winning talents team up to conquer a universal childhood fear.

pennyPenny and Her Marble by Kevin Henkes
In the third easy-to-read book about Penny the mouse, written by Caldecott Medalist and bestselling author Kevin Henkes, Penny finds a beautiful marble on her neighbors lawn and must decide whether or not to keep it. With age-appropriate vocabulary, compelling characters, and a memorable storyline, this is just right for newly independent readers. Kevin Henkes is known for his mouse characters, including Lilly, Owen, Chrysanthemum, Wemberly, and now Penny In Penny and her Marble, the third book in the Penny series, Penny finds a marble on Mrs. Goodwins yard and takes it home. But does the marble really belong to Penny? Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

brightBenjamin Bear in “Bright Ideas!”: A Toon Book by Phillippe Coudray
Benjamin Bear walks on water, rides a square-wheeled bicycle, and wears a fishbowl helmet under the sea. Benjamin Bear walks on water, rides a square-wheeled bicycle, and wears a fishbowl helmet under the sea. Told in the form of one-page comic strips, each of Benjamin’s adventures is a hilarious gag, a puzzle, a mini physics lesson, or sometimes all three. Of the first Benjamin book, Horn Book wrote, “Original, deep-down funny . . . steeped in the rare quality of imaginative kindness.” Kirkus called it, “A visually formatted joke book to inspire thinking as well as laughs.”

 

Advertisements

About jessicashuck

Jessica is a Library Associate at Cornerstone University's Miller Library and a future librarian. Currently, she is working on her MLIS through the University of South Florida. In her free time, she enjoys reading, crafting, and spending time with her husband and two dogs.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s